A Rhode Island safe boating certificate class will be offered March 14-15 and March 21 at the Newport Yacht Club, from 6:30 to 9 p.m. Pre-registration is required.
A proctored state examination will also be held on site. Cost is $49 for one, and $30 for each additional family member, to be paid to the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary. By law, Rhode Island boaters must have this certificate if born after Jan. 1, 1986. The certificate is also mandatory for anyone operating a personal watercraft, including jet skis, regardless of age and residency.
This in-depth class is taught by licensed captains and goes beyond the standard curriculum to include seamanship, mainspike and more. To register, contact Mark Marosits at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Leave a Reply