2014-11-13 / Around Town

Newcomer Joins School Committee

The Nov. 4 election officially secured three open Middletown School Committee seats with newcomer Douglas W. Arnold, who will serve a four-year term along with incumbents Liana Ferreira-Fenton and Chair Theresa Silveira Spengler. Paul Mankofsky did not seek re-election, after being appointed to the committee by Town Council in 2012 to fill a vacancy created by the death of former chair Mike Crowley.

Since 2002, School Committee elections have been nonpartisan. Middletown voters extended nonpartisan elections to council seats in future years, with the approval of Question 9. Supporters claim that nonpartisan elections generate more public interest and allow federal employees to hold office.

The School Committee will elect a chair and appoint subcommittee members at its Dec. 18 meeting.

Return to top